Who We Are


The United Nations Regional Centre for Peace, Disarmament and Development in Latin America and the Caribbean (UNLIREC), headquartered in Lima, Peru, was created by a UN General Assembly resolution in 1986.

The Regional Disarmament Branch (RDB), one of five branches of the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs (UNODA) in New York, oversees and coordinates the activities of UNLIREC and the other two regional disarmament centres for peace and disarmament in Africa, and Asia and the Pacific.

UNLIREC is the only UN regional entity specialized in disarmament and non-proliferation in the Latin American and Caribbean region. Its main function is to translate the decisions, instruments and commitments of Member States in the field of disarmament and non-proliferation into action, at national, sub-regional and regional levels. In short, UNLIREC supports Latin American and Caribbean States in achieving and maintaining peace and security through disarmament.

All UNLIREC's programmes and projects are undertaken upon request by Member States and rely exclusively on voluntary contributions. UNLIREC is committed to mainstreaming gender perspectives and promoting the contribution of women in all its activities and programmes.


UNLIREC was created to support 33 Latin American and Caribbean States in their implementation of peace and disarmament measures and promotion of economic and social development. It is also tasked with applying all mandates related to disarmament, arms control and non-proliferation given to it by UN Member States. Each year, 192 UN Member States adopt a resolution on the activities of UNLIREC and request the UN Secretary-General to report on a yearly basis on the implementation of this resolution.


The activities of UNLIREC cover 33 countries in Latin America and the Caribbean: Antigua and Barbuda, Argentina, Bahamas, Barbados, Belize, Bolivia, Brazil, Chile, Colombia, Costa Rica, Cuba, Dominica, Dominican Republic, Ecuador, El Salvador, Grenada, Guatemala, Guyana, Haiti, Honduras, Jamaica, Mexico, Nicaragua, Panama, Paraguay, Peru, Saint Kitts and Nevis, Saint Lucia, Saint Vincent and the Grenadines, Suriname, Trinidad and Tobago, Uruguay and Venezuela


The General Assembly (GA) is one of the five principal organs of the United Nations and the only one in which all Member States have equal representation. Each year a resolution is adopted by the GA on UNLIREC as part of the Reports of the First Committee on Disarmament and International Security.

Secretary-General Reports on the Activities of UNLIREC

The UN Secretary-General reports to the General Assembly on many issues called for by UN resolutions. Since creation of UNLIREC in 1986, the Secretary-General issues a report each year on the activities undertaken by UNLIREC.

Organizational Structure of the UN Office for Disarmament Affairs